Nosh News: I Made It Out of Potatoes Edition

Happy Hanukkah!

Time to make the latkes! Hanukkah (otherwise known as my annual excuse to go Pac-man on potato pancakes) begins tonight at sunset. This year, I’m determined to perfect my latke-making technique. In my quest to eat fried potatoes as often as possible during the next eight days, I’m going to give two recipes from Smitten Kitchen a try: Classic Potato Pancakes and a spicy twist on the dish, Indian-Spiced Vegetable Fritters with Curry-Lime Yogurt.

Since I like to live on the culinary edge, I haven’t yet decided exactly what I’ll be making for Christmas dinner. But I know that the menu will, of course, include potatoes. If the Pioneer Woman’s Duchess Potatoes taste half as good as they look, they might just outshine whatever main dish I end up putting on my holiday plate.

Since I’ll be busier than usual in the kitchen, wrestling a towering pile of potatoes into submission, posting on the blog will be light during the next couple of weeks. May you all enjoy a delicious holiday season and a fruitful new year!

2 thoughts on “Nosh News: I Made It Out of Potatoes Edition

  1. Those Indian-Spiced Vegetable Fritters sound really good – I’m going to have to figure out how to veganize them! I’ve been especially craving latkes after staring longinly at the giant plate of fried potato (and sweet potato . . . oh, the torture) goodness at my cousin’s holiday dinner!

    I figure some Ener-G egg substitute should do the trick – I’ll report back with the results.

    I could also ask your Floridian neighbor, the Vegan Black Metal Chef!

  2. Hi, Marc! Please let me know how your veganized Indian-Spiced Vegetable Fritters turn out. I’d love to steal your recipe!

    Thank you for letting me know about the Vegan Black Metal Chef. He definitely deserves a place on my list of favorite Florida food bloggers!

Leave a Reply

